Week thirteen: Svankmajer vs. Disney–A Tale of Two Alices

alice-disney alice-et-le-lapin-21 Alice-White-Rabbit_disney alice-white-rabbit

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Week thirteen: Svankmajer vs. Disney–A Tale of Two Alices

  1. earnason says:

    I was very happy to have the chance to sit down an enjoy a film, something I have not had the chance to do for a while. Disney’s Alice in Wonderland is an amazing film and it was made even more enjoyable by seeing it with a crowd and projected. Very nice to see some of the finest animation ever created as inspiration right before graduating. I watched about half an hour of the of the Svankmajer film and came to the conclusion that I really prefer stop motion puppets to have dead faces.

  2. Josh Weisbrod says:

    I unfortunately had had a really long day and was too tired and stressed out to sit still for Alice, which is a shame as I have been meaning to watch these films for some time. I did stay for a little of Disney’s Alice, which was a fun chance to take a little bit of a break.

  3. Thank you very much Lisa for giving us the option to use this time to catch up on work.

  4. Tristan says:

    I had sit this one out as well, I took the Thesis potion and feel my schedule shrinking while the workload is expanding.

  5. LinHui Wang says:

    Thanks for Lisa sharing us these great Alice films. I thought they were all very good. Especially for the Svankmajer one, if some one could take out all the lip close-up narration shots from it, and re-edit rest, that probably will look much better, in my own opinion.

  6. Caress says:

    I didn’t get a chance to come to seminar, as my car was malfunctioning about 20 miles away. 🙂 But I’ve seen both films before and hope other students enjoyed how weird both films are.

  7. Ryan Gillis says:

    I’m sorry to have missed Alice in Wonderland, but this seminar becoming optional was an excellent coincidence. My girlfriend had an enormous job interview the next morning and I was able to go home and run interview questions with her. And she GOT the job. So Katie owes her new-found employment do the hectic schedule of that truant sound designer!

  8. Joanna Barondess says:

    Thank you, Lisa, for letting us use this seminar time to catch up on our work! I apologize for raising both of my hands for Alice in Wonderland and then leaving, but I really needed to catch up on some work.

    Also, thank you for not showing or offering to show Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland, because it is the opposite of what Wonderland is and what it represents. For further clarification, I refer you to the Nostalgia Critic’s review of the monstrosity: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DeSa_TDtKcM

  9. Yifu Zhou says:

    I watched the first Disney animation. It was a relaxing seminar.

  10. Joseph yeh says:

    I used this time to catch up on Thesis, but I did go to Wonderland Unbound and it was amazing. I was very happy to be a part of it and see the wonderful work of my fellow artists. See you all around, work hard, and good luck! Peace out.

  11. emily says:

    I used this time to catch up on my thesis, too….

  12. Maggie Harbaugh says:

    I stayed for a short while hoping it would help me relax and give me time to just sit back and enjoy a movie for the first time in a long time. Turned out I was wrong and started thinking about all the stuff I needed to finish about 30 minutes in. Thank you though for giving us the option to stay or work on our own things.

  13. Evan Harbuck says:

    I was very thankful for the time to catch up on extra work! This time of the semester is always really tough when classes an final projects start to come to a head. Thanks Lisa, for being understanding and accommodating with our schedules and workloads.

  14. Fernando Rabelo says:

    This one was a great opportunity to catch up on school work. I know surprises happen and this one was a good example of how it should be handled. The choice of not having to stay was a great one, since I’d had seen both movies. Thanks for that, Lisa.

  15. jrronzani says:

    I hadn’t seen Disney’s “Alice in Wonderland” in a long time. It was always fun watching it as a kid, but now I can really appreciate the design and character animation. It’s damn near perfection. Alice in Wonderland’s character animation reminded me of their goofy shorts. I think the zaniness of Lewis Carol’s world allowed the animators to really push the envelope with the cartooniness of the animation, especially with the side characters. That card sequence is incredible! I wish I could have stuck around to watch Jan Svankmajer’s version. It’s really an amazing piece and a totally different take on the source material.

  16. I had just seen the Disney version of “Alice” so instead of sitting through it again, I went back to my office to continue preparing for the two upcoming installation of Body Scrub, Alice. In hind sight, this was a lot of work for just two 1-hour exhibitions. I would have likely not done it if it wasn’t for the libraries (which I feel I owe an enormous debt of gratitude.) As a reward, Body Scrub; Alice, and all work submitted to the Wonderland Competition, are now part of the permanent collection at Doheny libraries. It is my preference,to have my work available in Libraries and Museums, as opposed to Galleries and Private Collections.

  17. I had a good experience re-watching these, it has been a while since last time. Still a classic on my opinion. Cheers to Alice!

  18. Sijia Huang says:

    I have seen the first animation before ~and really enjoy the second one~

  19. Jake Zhang says:

    I watched the Disney one. The animation is good and the theme is so relaxing;

  20. Zheng Kang says:

    It was a relaxing seminar. The first Disney one is awesome and interesting. I have seen the second one before. It was a relaxing seminar. Also I have an opportunity to catch up on my Production 1. Thanks for that, Lisa.

  21. Amelia says:

    I wish I could have stayed but I was very nervous about an animation I had due that week for Tom Sito, and since I couldn’t stay and thumbnail because of the lighting situation, I had to leave. Very sad. Of course, I’ve seen Disney’s Alice before but I’ll have to catch Svankmajer’s another time since I’ve never seen it.

  22. Jessie Wang says:

    It’s very nice we all have chance to watch a film together, but I have to leave half way to finish some work of my production 1…

  23. Eric Cheng says:

    It’s so interesting to watch those Alice films just after we finish our Alice project.

  24. Li,Xia says:

    1.who are you
    2. If you don’t care where to go, then you don’t need to know which way to go.

    The most interested dialogue.

  25. Lanzhu Jian says:

    Such a pity I missed this amazing class.

  26. Reggie says:

    It was great watching Disney’s Alice in Wonderland again. It’s been a while since I’ve seen this masterpiece. I aspire to make a film that audiences enjoy as much as Alice.

  27. Ning Xu says:

    Great seminar, saw some awesome animation again with relaxing environment.

  28. Simo Liu says:

    It’s a seminar for me to catch up my thesis. But I’m sure Alice in Wonderland would be very fun.

  29. Sophie Xing says:

    I enjoyed to watch the movie, it reminded me of my childhood. Alice in wonderland is one of my favorite cartoon. The story just simply charming, and all the characters are interesting.

  30. Frank Gu says:

    I use this time to catch up my thesis…. I wish I can get relax and enjoy the movie some time…

  31. Catalina says:

    It was good to have the time to catch up on projects that were falling behind the schedule! thank you 🙂

  32. Christina Brous says:

    I couldn’t stay for the whole screening, but I got to stay and watch Disney’s Alice for a while, which was a nice refresher from doing work. 😀

  33. Chaoqi Zhang says:

    One of my favorite animation of Disney, Alice in the Wonderland, but thesis drag me away from enjoying it,

  34. Fan Feng says:

    Can not imagine these early animation is so beautiful like this. When I started learning animation, I found that animation is not a easy work. We need to think and do a lot of work for just several seconds.

  35. the same here, it was a very useful time to catch up on the projects we had that week, I am very grateful for that time

  36. Ruthie Williams says:

    This seminar was a nice surprise. Seeing a movie like Alice in Wonderland in a theater was a great opportunity because I am used to seeing it only on a small screen. Watching it as it was meant to be seen, I noticed many more little creatures and details. It was also interesting to watch it with my classmates as an audience and hear how much of a response certain characters and jokes received. I think it would be very fun to do screenings in future semesters.

Leave a Reply

