Wednesday, January 15th: Hench-DADA Student Work

Welcome to Animation Seminar!

In this first class, we will take a look at student work from our division from the previous semester.  After the screening, there will be a pizza party on on the 3rd floor balcony.

We will screen student work from the following classes:

  • Intro. to the Art of Animation (CTAN 101) – Sheila Sofian
  • Intro. to the Art of Animation (CTAN 544) – Lisa Mann
  • Expanded Animation (CTAN 579) – Kathy Smith
  • Visual Music (CTAN 495) – Mike Patterson
  • Animation Design and Production (CTAN 555) – Mike Patterson and Candace Reckinger

Please leave your comments below.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Wednesday, January 15th: Hench-DADA Student Work

  1. Dustin Reno says:

    Getting to see the fruits of everyone’s labor last night was fantastic! It’s easy to get too narrowly focused on our own project and work and forget how many absolutely amazingly talented students there are in our department. It was especially great to have the chance to see what all of the current first year MFAs and undergraduates had been up to. I can’t wait to see the showcasing at the end of this year, as I’m certain it will be even more impressive!

  2. Ryan Gillis says:

    Great first seminar! The years below us constantly impress me, and fill me with anxiety. The schedule looks great. I’m looking forward to my last semester.

  3. Yizhou Li says:

    The first year students’ films were so amazing! I think each new year gets better and better. It put a lot of pressure on me to push better results from my work and to challenge myself in the future more. I’m a little unsure about what to do for the Alice in Wonderland project, but I will think of something.

  4. Dustin Reno says:

    The quality and variety of work shown was astounding! It was so much fun to finally get a chance to see just what the new first year graduates and the undergraduates had been up to. I’m looking forward to the end of the semester showcase already! Nothing like a good reminder of the quality of work the people I go to school with are capable of- inspiring and exciting!

  5. Tristan Dyer says:

    Lots of impressive stuff. I can’t wait to see what some of these students produce over the next couple of years. I would say the most surprising one for me was the clock from Visual Music. It’s nice to see non majors using CG so well.

  6. Andrew Malek says:

    I would agree with Yizhou that every year the work students are putting out is getting better and better. I can only imagine what the work will be like five years from now. It’s inspiring to see the hard work of my classmates and I’m lucky to be among such driven and creative people. I want to see more Animation Zoo, too.

  7. Ivan Sayon says:

    Its always great to see everyone’s current work so far and how talented and diverse the program is. Every year it seems something new is brought to the table and I always get a sense of nostalgia when I see the intro to animation undergrad work that’s done with pencil on paper. It makes me want to bust out the peg bar again.

  8. linhui wang says:

    I got many inspirations and encouragements from the seminar! And I like the pizza and drink! Yeah!

  9. Joanna Barondess says:

    It’s so true that each year gets progressively better as they enter the MFA program! I was incredibly inspired by the first year’s work. We’re a very talented community.

  10. Sophie Xing says:

    I felt stressful as well after saw everyone’s works. Their works were so amazing. It’s my first time to do animation, I was so happy I chosen animation as my final career for my rest of my life. I learned so much at the first semester. But I felt there are more things to learn.

  11. Jiexi Wang says:

    There were a lot of ‘wow’ work in last week seminar, absolutely inspiring. Besides individual work, we also see collaboration work- Yizhou and Dustin definitely did an amazing job on their short. I hope we all can work with others on at least one of our films during our stay here.

  12. Fan Feng says:

    It is always a happy time to watch everybody’s work and motivate me to try my best to do my animation. Animation is always a long journey which like a pregnant woman to bear a baby. You need to spend long time on the process then produce a very charming animation baby.

  13. Robert Calcagno says:

    As always, everyone is impeccably talented and it’s interesting to see how in the years that this school has had the workstations and digital programs it’s becoming more and more mixed. Also it was delightful to see the 555 class pull through with the greenscreen projects; the curriculum our semester was a bit quirky so we weren’t able to do it but I’m glad the second-years had the time and opportunity to do so.

  14. Tristan says:

    It seems like each year the work gets better. I thought it was a really strong showing all around. I also enjoyed the little bit of controversy over files being uploaded or not, we needed some drama.

  15. Christina Brous says:

    I totally thought I commented on this already, but seeing everyone’s work was great! I especially liked seeing what the undergrads were doing. We don’t always get to interact with them and I’ve definitely been interested in seeing what they’ve been working on. They’re so talented!

  16. Brian Rhodes says:

    DADA is incredible and everyone’s work always inspires me. This seminar has been magical so far.

  17. Li,Xia says:

    inspired by everyone’s work, thank all of you.

  18. Simo Liu says:

    Very nice to see everyone’s works! Very inspired and happy to see every semester’s new works!

  19. Maggie Harbaugh says:

    This is a REALLY late post, but I do remember enjoying everyone’s work again on the big screen. I also loved seeing all the wonderful work coming out from the undergrads and the amazing films resulting from 555. I’m looking forward to Wednesday when we can watch all the work we’ve done since!

  20. Yeah, I’m very late on this too, but I still remember how incredible everyone’s final projects were . . . especially from Intro to the Art of Animation because we ALL know how compressed those projects are! The big all-DADA screenings are usually my favorite Seminar events because I love seeing what all of you are working so hard on.

    I’m super excited to see the First Years’ Production Ones next week! And it’s hard to believe a whole semester has flown by since this first Seminar. Wow.

  21. jrronzani says:

    So much animation! This was a fantastic screening. It brought back great memories of the insane amount of work during the first semester that I know the first years had to go through. I love hearing (and seeing) everyone’s artistic voice. I feel like I get to know people better when I see their work. The undergrad work is inspiring as well. Some of these students have never touched animation and it’s amazing to see what they can pull off.

    I’m really looking forward to seeing the first years’ P1’s this week! I can’t wait to see what everyone can do with a whole semester dedicated to a short film.

  22. Fernando Rabelo says:

    This is one of my favorite seminars since I’ve gotten to this school. It’s a very pleasant evening where we get to see others works as well as our own. It’s a good chance to get familiar with the challenges you will have as a student and also to remember the work you’ve done so far is also appreciated by others. It’s also a very nice opportunity to familiarize yourself to others work and also to receive some good comments about your own. This is an important way to begin a semester and leave behind all the frightening days of the first semester.

  23. Reggie says:

    It was great seeing everyone’s work on the big screen. I am impressed with the level of craft and care that was put into the projects within a short period of time. It seems every year, the classes get stronger, and I’m proud what our program produces. I look forward to see the the 2nd year class’ thesis projects.

  24. I really enjoy the DADA student shows. In a sense, they are the first round for First-Frame. Seeing my classmates work helps me better understand them – not just as makers and storytellers, but as individuals. Grouped by instructor and course topic gives me a chance to looking forward and think about what I would like to do in the upcoming classes. I hope if my work is screened at next semester’s seminar, it speaks true of who I am – or better yet, of who I want to be. Isn’t that why we’re all here?
    ” Let us think of education as the means of developing our greatest abilities, because in each of us there is a private hope and dream which, fulfilled, can be translated into benefit for everyone …” From: Proclamation 3422 – American Education Week, 1961by JFK, July 25, 1961
    http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/ws/?pid=24146

  25. Sijia Huang says:

    I was shocked by some of your amazing works! Great job every body!

  26. Eric Cheng says:

    The first seminar always the funnest one~ I think we indeed have some talented students in first year, Looking forward to see everyone’s P1 🙂

  27. Lanzhu Jian says:

    such a joyful night with so many creative minds.

  28. Ning Xu says:

    I like to watch animation.

  29. Frank Gu says:

    great job everone😃

  30. Emily Chung says:

    It was cool to see everybody’s work in such a big monitor. Fantastic work to everyone。

  31. Chaoqi Zhang says:

    My eyes were burning, so many good works, our program is so productive, more than a commercial studio, thanks to our faculties.

  32. I enjoyed watching the films a lot, seeing them on a big screen really gives them a justice – in Europe I never got to seeing my films on a huge screen so I really appreciate that. There are so many great students at USC

Leave a Reply

